[Previous Months][Date Index][Thread Index][Join - Register][Login]
[Message Prev][Message Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next]

[IP] (Fwd) Action Alert

For those of you not on Joseph's list, this is important to all 
people with diabetes. You may wish to contact your representative and 
give him/her a friendly piece of your mind.

email @ redacted

------- Forwarded Message Follows -------
Date:          Fri, 28 Apr 2000 14:42:43 -0400
Reply-to:      email @ redacted
From:          Joseph LaMountain <email @ redacted>
Subject:       Action Alert
To:            email @ redacted

The House subcommittee responsible for funding the National Institutes
of Health (NIH) is getting ready to act.  On May 10, they are
scheduled to "mark up," or draft, the bill that funds NIH.  That means
it's time for people with diabetes to take action.

This year, 266 Representatives signed an Open Letter to President
Clinton in support of the DRWG
(http://www.ep.niddk.nih.gov/dwg/dwgmain.htm) and a cure for diabetes.
 Why did so many sign?  Because diabetes advocates asked, that's why!

We now need a similar show of support before this important
subcommittee meets and "marks up" the bill on May 10th.  Please
contact your Representative by phone, fax or email (because of the
short time before the subcommittee acts, a letter will not be received
in time).

When contacting your Representative, please make the following key

1. The Labor, Health and Education appropriations subcommittee is
scheduled to "mark up" the bill on May 10th. 2. If your Representative
signed the Open Letter to Clinton, please thank him/her (list of
signers at end of message.) 3. Express your support for the DRWG and a
$500 million funding increase for diabetes research (as DRWG
recommended). 4. Ask your Representative to speak with the
subcommittee chairman, Representative John Porter (R-IL), before May
10th and express their support for fully funding the recommendations
suggested by the Diabetes Research Working Group for diabetes research
at NIH this year.

You can obtain your Representative's email address, fax and phone
numbers by visiting ADA's Legislative Action Center at
http://congress.nw.dc.us/ada/.  You can also obtain them by calling
the US Capitol switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and providing the
operator with your zip code.

Many thanks for your continued support of diabetes advocacy and the
American Diabetes Association.  Here's the list of signers:

Abercrombie (HI-1)
Allen (ME-1)
Andrews (NJ-1)
Baca (CA-42)
Bachus (AL-6)
Baird (WA-3)
Baldacci (ME-2)
Baldwin (WI-2)
Barr (GA-7)
Barrett, Bill (NE-3)
Barrett, Tom (WI-5)
Bartlett (MD-6)
Bass (NH-2)
Bereuter (NE-1)
Berkley (NV-1)
Biggert (IL-13)
Bilbray (CA-49)
Bilirakis (FL-24)
Bishop (GA-2)
Blagojevich (IL-5)
Blumenauer (OR-3)
Bonilla (TX-23)
Bonior (MI-10)
Borski (PA-3)
Boswell (IA-3)
Brown, Corrine (FL-3)
Brown, Sherrod (OH-13)
Bryant (TN-7)
Burr (NC-5)
Buyer (IN-5)
Callahan (AL-1)
Calvert (CA-43)
Camp (MI-4)
Canady (FL-12)
Cannon (UT-3)
Capps (CA-22)
Capuano (MA-8)
Carson (IN-10)
Castle (DE-AL)
Chambliss (GA-8)
Christensen (VI-Del)
Clay (MO-1)
Clayton (NC-1)
Clement (TN-5)
Coble (NC-6)
Conyers (MI-14)
Cook (UT-2)
Coyne (PA-14)
Cubin (WY-AL)
Cummings (MD-7)
Cunningham (CA-51)
Danner (MO-6)
Davis, Jim (FL-11)
Davis, Danny (IL-7)
Davis, Tom (VA-11)
Deal (GA-9)
DeGette (CO-1)
Delahunt (MA-10)
DeLauro (CT-3)
Deutsch (FL-20)
Dickey (AR-4)
Dingell (MI-16)
Dixon (CA-32)
Doggett, Lloyd (TX-10)
Dooley (CA-20)
Doyle (PA-18)
Duncan (TN-2)
Dunn (WA-8)
Ehlers (MI-3)
Emerson (MO-8)
Engel (NY-17)
Eshoo (CA-14)
Faleomavega (AS-Del)
Filner (CA-50)
Foley (FL-16)
Ford (TN-9)
Fowler (FL-4)
Frank (MA-4)
Franks (NJ-7)
Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
Frost (TX-24)
Gallegly (CA-23)
Gedjensen (CT-2)
Gekas (PA-17)
Gibbons (NV-2)
Gilchrest (MD-1)
Gillmor (OH-5)
Gilman (NY-20)
Gonzalez (TX-20)
Goode (VA-5)
Goodlatte (VA-6)
Goodling (PA-19)
Gordon (TN-6)
Green, Gene (TX-29)
Hall, Ralph (TX-4)
Hall, Tony (OH-3)
Hastings, Doc (WA-4)
Hastings, Alcee (FL-23)
Hayes (NC-8)
Hayworth (AZ-6)
Hefley (CO-5)
Hilleary (TN-4)
Hilliard (AL-7)
Hinchey (NY-26)
Hinojosa (TX-15)
Hobson (OH-7)
Hoeffel (PA-13)
Holden (PA-6)
Holt (NJ-12)
Hooley (OR-5)
Horn (CA-38)
Houghton (NY-31)
Hoyer (MD-5)
Hutchinson (AR-3)
Inslee (WA-1)
Isakson (GA-6)
Jackson (IL-2)
Jefferson (LA-2)
Jenkins (TN-1)
John (LA-7)
Johnson, Nancy (CT-6)
Jones, Walter (NC-3)
Kanjorski (PA-11)
Kelly (NY-19)
Kennedy (RI-1)
Kildee (MI-9)
Kilpatrick (MI-15)
King (NY-3)
Kleczka (WI-4)
Klink (PA-4)
Kolbe (AZ-5)
Kucinich (OH-10)
Kuykendall (CA-36)
LaFalce (NY-29)
Lantos (CA-12)
Largent (OK-1)
Larson (CT-1)
Latham (IA-5)

Leach (IA-1)
Levin (MI-12)
Lewis, Ron (KY-2)
Lipinski (IL-3)
LoBiondo (NJ-2)
Lowey (NY-18)
Lowey (NY-18)
Lucas, Ken (KY-4)
Lucas, Frank (OK-6)
Manzullo (IL-16)
Markey (MA-7)
Mascara (PA-20)
Matsui (CA-5)
McCarthy, Karen (D-MO)
McDermott (WA-7)
McGovern (MA-3)
McHugh (NY-24)
McKeon (CA-25)
McKinney (GA-4)
McNulty (NY-21)
Meehan (MA-5)
Menendez (NJ-13)
Metcalf (WA-2)
Millender-McDonald (CA-37)
Miller, George (CA-7)
Moakley (MA-9)
Moore (KS-3)
Moran, Jim (VA-8)
Moran, Jerry (KS-1)
Morella (MD-8)
Murtha (PA-12)
Nadler (NY-8)
Neal (MA-2)
Nethercutt (WA-05)
Nussle (IA-2)
Oberstar (MN-8)
Olver (MA-1)
Ortiz (TX-27)
Ose (CA-3)
Pallone (NJ-6)
Pascrell (NJ-8)
Pastor (AZ-2)
Payne (NJ-10)
Peterson, John (PA-5)
Phelps (IL-19)
Pickering (MS-3)
Pickett (VA-2)
Pombo (CA-11)
Pomeroy (ND-AL)
Portman (OH-2)
Price (NC-4)
Pryce (OH-15)
Quinn (NY-30)
Radanovich (CA-19)
Rahall (WV-3)
Rangel (NY-15)
Regula (OH-16)
Reyes (TX-16)
Riley (AL-3)
Rivers (MI-13)
Rodriguez (TX-28)
Roemer (IN-3)
Romero-Barcelo (PR-RC)
Rothman (NJ-9)
Roybal-Allard (CA-33)
Rush (IL-1)
Ryan (WI-1)
Sanders (VT-AL)
Sandlin (TX-1)
Sawyer (OH-14)
Saxton (NJ-3)
Schaffer (CO-4)
Schakowsky (IL-9)
Scott, Bobby (VA-3)
Serrano (NY-16)
Sessions (TX-5)
Shays (CT-4)
Sherman (CA-24)
Sherwood (PA-10)
Simpson (ID-2)
Skeen (NM-2)
Skelton (MO-4)
Slaughter (NY-28)
Smith, Lamar (TX-21)
Smith, Chris (NJ-4)
Smith, Adam (WA-9)
Snyder (AR-2)
Spence (SC-2)
Spratt (SC-5)
Stabenow (MI-8)
Stark (CA-13)
Stearns (FL-6)
Stenholm (TX-17)
Stump (AZ-3)
Stupak (MI-1)
Sununu (NH-1)
Sweeney (NY-22)
Talent (MO-2)
Tancredo (CO-6)
Tanner (TN-8)
Taylor, Gene (MS-5)
Terry (NE-2)
Thompson, Bennie (MS-2)
Thurman (FL-5)
Tierney (MA-6)
Towns (NY-10)
Traficant (OH-17)
Tubbs-Jones (OH-11)
Turner (TX-2)
Underwood (GU-Del)
Velazquez (NY-12)
Vento (MN-4)
Walsh (NY-25)
Wamp (TN-3)
Waters (CA-35)
Watkins (OK-3)
Waxman (CA-29)
Weiner (NY-9)
Weldon, Curt (PA-7)
Wexler (FL-19)
Weygand (RI-2)
Wicker (MS-1)
Wise (WV-2)
Wolf (VA-10)
Woolsey (CA-6)
Wu (OR-1)
Wynn (MD-4)
Young, Don (AK-AL)

Leading the fight to cure diabetes...

Joseph LaMountain
National Director of Advocacy
American Diabetes Association
1701 N. Beauregard Street
Alexandria, VA 22311

for HELP or to subscribe/unsubscribe, contact: HELP@insulin-pumpers.org
send a DONATION http://www.Insulin-Pumpers.org/donate.shtml